Erik.37m

Hi everyone, I'm new to Vans Air force but I've been a member or the EAA since 1989. I use to be interested in Fiberglass kit planes but over the years I've seen how Vans planes have become the "Plane to build". When I opened my newest Sport Aviation I was impressed with the RV-14. Now I've been to the web site and Met Ken K. in his video presentation of the plane. I was impress with the plane and him (Sad to see him leave the company). The RV-14 got my desire to build going again now that my life should be able to handle the extra work load. I was impress with how far Documentation has come and manufacturing completeness of the kit. Those are big in my view. Not just the type of plane. Plug and play works for me. I own a small machine shop that has CNC machining capability and also sheet-metal as well as Structural fabrication (2 man shop). I wouldn't mind being steered the correct way. Making mistakes is a part of the business and I can do without them.
My question to the members is Getting the Quick build kit the way to go if you forget about the extra cost?
I've look at a lot of builders logs by members and their seems to be a lot of other stuff that needs to get done other than assembly of the sheetmetal. I'm worried about the time involved. I don't have a lot of spare time but I'm willing to try to do it.
My other question would be, by past account how long does it take before the QB kits become available after the Standard kits start shipping? I emailed Vans and they just said they ship standard kits first.
My last question would be the Quality of manufacturing by Bonanza in the Philippines. Is there quality top notch and consistent kit by kit. Or is doing the job myself going to give better results. I try to make a point of doing the job correct and clean. I betting they do a great job but without seeing there work I need others in verifying my opinion.
Thanks, Erik

RV-8

Erik,