scard

Well Known Member
Advertiser
I have been using my QT Halo headset for 210hrs and 14 months. I began to notice a few months ago that I was having to turn the volume up higher and higher in order to hear the radios and intercom. I had the control volume turned up almost all the way and began noticing a little high gain distortion because I had to crank the volume up so high. Then I started missing some radio calls. OK, enough. Time for action. This really crept up slowly and I didn't even notice it much for quite some time. Come to find out, Tanya has been turning her headset volume down incrementally over the same period of time as I turned the radios up. She just never said anything :). She must have been just being nice thinking I was really loosing my hearing in my "old" age.

I did the little headset swap exercise with our Lightspeed 30 3G. Wow, I can hear. Sounds great. Next I stole Tanya's Clarity Aloft. Yep, that sounds great too with plenty of volume. Oooo, while we're at it, that Clarity Aloft is nice too. I made this comment to Tanya, she immediately said "don't even think about it." The issue wasn't my ears or the airplane.

The logistics officer (Tanya) now had enough information to take action. She called up QT and he knew exactly what the issue was. There is a little metal baffle in the ear tubes that you can see about an inch from the ear tips. This little metal insert is there to tune the audio quality and seems to get partially blocked with sweat and whatever. He said simply cut it off and you'll be good to go. So this evening we went and cut short the tubes to remove the little metal baffle and WOW, I can hear! What a great relief. I like the Halo headset, but this deteriorating volume wasn't going to cut it. The difference was amazing, however, now the tonal quality of the headset is kind of like listening in a tin can. We'll get this resolved. I just thought I would share :).

Update from the Logistics Officer