bach33089

Okay, I do NOT want to open the can of worms that is the priming subject in this forum, but at the same time I have a very pointed question / request for advice, so at the risk of being stoned, here it is:

Has anyone used / does anyone have any thoughtful ideas on the use of Linseed oil (or more modern Corrosion X) to prevent corrosion INSIDE the control push rods? I have a lot of experience with Rag and Tube airplanes and this is the WORLD STANDARD for corrosion prevention in tubular aircraft construction, but is it a good idea in this application (leak out of rivet holes? seal them with RTV?) I am torn, but I don't think pouring primer down the thread hole is a good option either...

Thanks for the help!

Okay, I do NOT want to open the can of worms that is the priming subject in this forum, but at the same time I have a very pointed question / request for advice, so at the risk of being stoned, here it is...

Hey, what day is it?

Edit add:

First, a nitpick: I think it's pretty standard to call something a pushrod only if it's made from a solid rod. Everything else gets called a "push-pull tube." At least that's the way the rules seem to work.

That said, I wouldn't bother. The aluminum tubes are probably 6061, which is pretty corrosion-resistant from the start, and are probably anodized as well. I've picked apart a bunch of crashed gliders and airplanes, and none of them have shown any significant sign of internal corrosion in either steel or aluminum push-pull tubes. Besides, as you note the oil will eventually find its way out and make a mess inside the airplane.

Thanks, Bob K.

Last edited:
I had similar thoughts, but came to realize the tube in 'rag and tube' is steel which oxidizes (rusts) much more quickly than the aluminum push tubes. Plus, I don't think you could seal up the rivet holes and rod-end bearings for the long-term. Steel tubing is welded air/oil tight.