cbrown747

I have already read many threads on this topic including vans opinion on buying an existing rv but wanted to ask if any others who have bought themselves or known others who have done this(purchasing existing rv). I have acquired some of the basic tools and have worked on 1 of 2 practice kits, so I have some experience playing around with riviting, dimpling, etc.

My main concern is how do you know if the builder built the plane safely did not take any shortcuts? My main thought would be to ask if he or she has any references from other builders, but that could be iffy at best.

If I was to travel to another airport in a different state to inspect an rv for sale, can I trust the local a&p mechanic where the plane is based?

I was talking to my wife about building vs buying and right now it looks like our priorities are to clean up our balance sheet over the next couple years so we can have a noticeable increase in disposable income. But with that said, if I was to start building at that time, I would be already those years away from flying vs buying something immediately. I know the advantages of building including doing your own maintenance, but I think you can get around that if you can find another a&p mechanic to work with you and help you reduce your maintenance bill.

I also was wondering if anybody read anything about what the used airplane market will be like within 4 years from now. Since they claim that there are fewer pilots staying active each year, I am surmising that the market will be more attractive to buyers.

The actual airplane I am interested in is the rv-9a. I would want autopilot along with the gps navigational system.

My main concern is how do you know if the builder built the plane safely did not take any shortcuts? My main thought would be to ask if he or she has any references from other builders, but that could be iffy at best.