Hey Guys,

I’m fairly new to the VAF forums so please take it easy on me :) I’m looking at taking the plunge into becoming an RV owner and figured I would ask a few questions here first to help me better define my mission before I purchase something.

I’m wanting a XC focused plane for working. Most of my travel will be to west coast airports and it makes sense to use a plane when the weather permits.

Seems like with the ailing economy and growing RV fleet there are quite a few choices of used RVs so I would like to purchase something that has as many top-notch features as possible without having to retrofit. Over the years, probably like many of you, I’ve learned that it’s usually cheaper to wait and find something that has what I want rather than trying to modify something afterward.

Here’s a list of what I’m coming up with so far:

Primary (required)
side-by-side, two-place
trigear
200+ mph cruise
IFR
autopilot
very accurate and reliable engine monitoring (individual cylinder CHT/EGT) for running LOP
reliable and proven systems (nothing new and novel)
all airframe/prop/engine ADs/SBs complied with including nose-gear leg/fork upgrade (if applicable)

Secondary (desired)
under $60k
light (bare aluminum and a sparse interior is OK)
simple/light panel
aircraft-grade (mil-spec) wiring
wiring ala Aeroelectric Connection philosophy (fault-tolerant)
one mag, one electronic-ignition
TBI or direct-injection
clean/efficient cooling and intake
drag mods for fuel efficiency
CS prop for high altitude performance
two-place oxygen
custom/tight-fitting canopy cover

Can anyone give me some tips on some of the preferred (most reliable and/or the best performing) components to achieve these goals? Such as… “If you’re gonna buy a plane with an autopilot then ya gotta get JoeBob’s-Wonder-Wing-Wobbler if you want it to last.” Or, “If ya wanna go 200 mph ya really need to be looking for a plane with these speed mods…”

Thanks folks and I look forward to joining the RV community :)