Hooter

I'm New Here
Hi folks - I'm new to this site. I've had my eye on RV-4s for years. I wanted to build one but simply don't have the time - didn't even get the empennage built. I'd love an RV-8 but can't afford that right now. I've flown several RV-4s, Harmon Rockets, etc. I'm a test pilot by trade and love how RVs fly. I've also bucked a few rivets. I'm looking at a number of RV-4s on Barnstormers, Trade-a-Plane, etc. I was wondering if anyone on this site is familiar with any that are for sale right now - at least enough to validate build quality or tell me to run away?

Should I focus on those with 360 motors? What about three-bladed props? Any bulletins, AD,s, etc. that I should be aware of? Is there a good checklist of RV-4 notorious problem areas? Thanks I appreciate any sage words - I'm pretty much ready to pull the trigger & buy one but don't want to spend months and $$$ traveling all over looking at multiple planes.

Welcome

Steve, a big welcome to VAF...the home for all things RV:)

It really is still a buyer's market and the -4's are usually bargain-priced.

Smoky Ray on here is an RV expert, ex fighter pilot, and RV builder with a lot of contacts, here and abroad. Be sure and get a pre-buy inspection when you find an airplane and save yourself a lot of grief.

The -4's fly fast and perform well with 0-320's and fixed pitched props. They seem to lose that sports car like feel with the bigger engines and CS props. I have quite a bit of time in a 160 horse RV-4 with a light Catto two-bladed prop and it is very nimble.

Best,

Rv4

Stick with a basic light o320, wood prop they fly the best.
I've got about 1500 hrs in mine and love it!
Look for basic workmanship, lower engine mounts for cracks.
Get rid of the tractor fuel valve van supplies, put in an adairs (sp?) one.
I'm in the PHX area, let me know if something is local you want looked at.
I'm an A&P plus do prop balancing.
Good luck with you search.
Also don't get a "H" series engine.