Mike Matthews

I'm New Here
I?m building an RV-8A and have gotten to the point of making my engine purchase. I have decided to go with Van?s engine/ prop package; however I noticed that they have a 72? and a 74? Hartzell prop for the tri-gear models. Van?s claims that no testing has been done to compare performance and yet they are the same price. Are there benefits to one verses the other? I am a new pilot and a first time builder so this is all relatively new to me.

At 8500' on a standard day at 200 mph TAS when flying at rated 2700 rpm, the tip speed of the 74" prop will be M0.85 whereas the 72" will be at M0.83. The higher tip Mach will result in more tip loss and less speed/efficiency. The longer prop will give slightly more static thrust and climb rate, all other things such as pitch and airfoil being the same.

My opinion would be go shorter. It will give you another inch ground clearance. Less rocks and debris.

A related question, though I'm far from this stage: I'd heard that a key advantage of 3-bladed props vs. 2-bladed props was that the 3-bladed props are shorter, so you get more ground clearance, and slower tip speeds and less noise. However, the rep at Van's told me that the 3-bladed props they recommend are the exact same length as the 2-bladed props! So what's the advantage of 3 blades?

another point of view

Tony Bingalis used to write in his EAA technical column concerning propellers: "Keep you propeller as long as possible, as long as possible" Greater efficiency, and another thing would be that you have a little extra blade length to work with when it comes time to overhaul the blades.

steve ciha