rv9aviator

Well Known Member
I have an RV-9A with a Lycoming 0-320 E3D 150 HP engine with a Ed Sterba 68-74 prop. My engine redline is 2700 RPM. I read somewhere you should pitch your prop for max RPM at 8000 Feet Density Altitude with wide open throttle. My engine only turns 2500 RPM at that altitude WOT. My airport elevation in 1360 feet and I have good climb and cruise performance. One of my pilot friends that has probably over 10,000 hours asked why I wanted to max the rpm at that altitude. He said all I would do is burn more fuel for little gain in speed. He said he would leave well enough alone. I need some more opinions and a better understanding of why! Thanks

Jim,

I'm no expert, but I would wonder why one would pitch for maximum RPM at any altitude. The easiest way to do that would be (I think) to have the flattest pitch prop you could find (i.e., the least drag). Perhaps you mean pitch the prop so that it makes redline (approximately) at 8000 DA? I think this would allow you to get close to optimal cruise performance out of your airplane, since 8000 is a reasonable "average" cruising altitude. My prop yields about 2750 rpm WOT at ~8000 DA and gives me great cruise performance (top speed ~200 mph, cruise speed ~165 mph @ 6.5-7.5 gph). I do lack in takeoff and climb performance compared to some RVs, but I spend more of my time in cruise than anything else so I'm happy with that compromise.

I would suggest that your prop might be a bit overpitched if you cannot get more than 2500 rpm at 8000 DA. The reason for trying for redline (in my understanding) is that the engine puts out the most horsepower there so should (?) be more efficient. Maybe someone else who knows more than me will add to this discussion or correct my errors.

cheers,
greg

First, purchase one of these..... http://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/inpages/onetouch.php and make sure that your tach is correct.