lockeed

Well Known Member
I've been enjoying my 2010 RV-6A since May 2011 and I absolutely adore it in every aspects.

I have a O-360 // 180hp and a 70 X 82 Sterba wood prop that performs very well (pic). But I'd love to get a prop that match my paint scheme. So a white prop with blue and gold accents would be perfect.

I've seen a lot of debate going on on the internet as to the effectiveness of a 3 bladed prop vs 2 bladed props on RV's... I'd like to know if things have changed since the old threads and if there is a newcomer, or a manufacturer being considered the best of them all in terms of performance, and reliability.

Let me know what you guys think.

I don't mind either a 2 or 3 bladed prop, as long as it perform as good or better than mine and that I can paint or simply get it with the colors I need.

Thx!:D

15rhwzm.jpg

Last edited:
lol :D Thx Bret.

Metalic blue paint and Ibis white. Metalic pewter/gold accents.

Cheers.

If the Sterba prop performs well, why not just paint it to match the plane?

I have a friend who had his Aymar Demuth wood prop painted to match his plane, and he's now got more than 700 hours on it.

I tought about painting mine, but I'm afraid of how it will old up over time.

The main thing is, I'm afraid about balancing issues... Is this right or am I just crazy?

I think a wooden prop has more give than a metal or composite one, how to prevent the paint from craking?

I tought about painting mine, but I'm afraid of how it will old up over time.

The main thing is, I'm afraid about balancing issues... Is this right or am I just crazy?

I think a wooden prop has more give than a metal or composite one, how to prevent the paint from craking?

The varnish or whatever is already on there is paint. If it isn't cracking now, neither will pigmented paint.