hydroguy2

Well Known Member
Anyone know where to get my prop balance checked near Montana?

Went out today and found some smooth air up high. I'm still learning about LOP, ROP, FF, RPM, but like the numbers so far. But I sense a slight vibration above 2450. Here was 178kts, 10.4gph 20" 2350rpm 120-140* ROP
Flying092.jpg

Bring the mixture down to 50 ROP...

...for more speed/economy.

BTW, the D-120 has a "Lean" mode.. Push the menu button and there should be a "Lean" button. Press it and when you get to peak EGT and continue beyond that, the numbers change to -12...-20....-30 and so on increase in value as you lean.

You will give up around 6 MPH at 50 LOP but hey, the economy will surprise you.

Best,

Last edited:
I'm working on figuring out how and where to run the engine. I've been running it very rich for break-in, but fouled a plug last week. Yesterday I finally started leaning a bit.

I haven't run WOT at lower altitudes due to turbulence. At 24" & 2450, I'm over 180kts but things have been rough around here. Here is a part throttle pic, before I found the "lean" page on the Dynon.
Flying080.jpg

Last edited:
There's gotta be someone near you, but since Casper's prop shop closed I,ve been using Precision Props in Boise (Brian). Jackson Hole also has two A.C.E.S. machines, but I don't know if they still have someone there that knows how to use them since Todd is gone. Call them and see.

BTW....

...the Lean mode does funny things when you reduce power for the descent phase of the flight, so I turn that mode off...and the way you do that, is to go back to the menu where "LEAN" shows and push that button again and it'll revert to the normal mode.

Regards,

Hydroguy, check with people who are smarter than me (there are at least four known who are) and consider leaning the engine a LOT during taxiing.

Part of run-up checklist is setting the mixture to ideal. Perhaps slightly rich if you think it prudent.

10.4 GPH at your altitude may be far too rich. Verify