Tbone

Well Known Member
How do you determine what a fair price is on a RV project? Kit cost +, or do you take a good hit on your monetary outlay? The reason that I am asking is that I have been building a RV7 QB since 2003 and have come to the realization that I may not have the time or the patience to finish (out of $$). Life has a way of changing your priorities after a few years. If I do decide to put this project on the market should I piecemeal items or sell as a whole? Not going to say how much is left to complete but the work that I have done is top notch. Any advice on how to price this project? The details are: RV7 QB, wings done except the tips, tail done except the tips, finish kit, Superior IO360 new, truetrac DVII, strobes, API fuel pump plumbed. Everything needed to complete except prop and instruments I believe.

Regards,
tbone
RV7 QB

This is strictly market driven. I've seen projects go for the money invested, for a loss, and sometimes with a profit if the workmanship is good.
Bottom line...If the buyer is happy and the seller is happy, that's all that counts.

Depends

It depends on the kit. Usually Cost "-" or straight cost is realistic. Older kits will be cost "minus-minus." Workmanship is a big factor. Your 7 will go better than a 6 or 9 kit as the demand for these is less than the 7.
I got a partially built kit and the first order of business was to go over it systematically and fix all the problems I did not find in the pre-buy. I now have a great plane but ignorance had a price. I would now only go price minus or go to VAN's for a new kit. Good Luck.

Last edited:
Terry,
I'll give you the perspective of someone that is somewhat in the market for a 10QB (if he could find one at the right price).