WISC

Well Known Member
I have no experience at building an airplane. However, I am thinking of giving it a shot.
Do you think I should look at a project or start from scratch? I am told pre-punched is the way to go and don?t consider building without a pre-punched kit or project. Is that solid advice?
Thanks in advance.

I have no experience at building an airplane. However, I am thinking of giving it a shot.
Do you think I should look at a project or start from scratch? I am told pre-punched is the way to go and don?t consider building without a pre-punched kit or project. Is that solid advice?
Thanks in advance.

Pre-punched makes things a bit easier, but there are far more non pre-punched experimentals out flying than punched kits. Nothing in my RV-6 kit is pre-punched, it can be a challenge at times, but that is part of the fun.

Starting from a project can have it's pitfalls. If you can get and experienced builder to go with you to inspect the project, you should be ok.

Pre-punched makes things a bit easier, but there are far more non pre-punched experimentals out flying than punched kits. Nothing in my RV-6 kit is pre-punched, it can be a challenge at times, but that is part of the fun.

Starting from a project can have it's pitfalls. If you can get and experienced builder to go with you to inspect the project, you should be ok.

What Colin said and more... even if it is a pre-punched kit, it would be very wise to have an experienced builder look over the project with you. Just a set of screwed up spars can queer the deal Big Time! :)