LettersFromFlyoverCountry

Well Known Member
It's nowhere near dramatic as Paul Story's RV arriving at KSGS a couple of weeks ago, but I'm no longer a homebuilder. I guess I'm a hangar builder now.

We used a decidedly low-tech method to bring it to KSGS on Saturday.

4.jpg

Story and pictures on my blog.

For some reason, the fuselage looks "happier" in the hangar. After 7 years, however, my car is claustrophobic since it no longer has to sleep outside.

Last edited:
Congratulations Bob!

It is a step in the right direction, and any progress is progress.

I wrote about this on a separate blog post but I'll repost here for yucks and giggles value:

-0-

Yesterday, we moved the fuselage out of my garage to the hangar I rent at SGS (South St. Paul's Fleming Field).

My friend, Warren Starkebaum, took some pictures and I hope to upload some as soon as he sends them to me. We used a very high-tech system, given that the plane is not on its gear. I bought four bales of straw, put them on a trailer that David Maib (RV-10 builder) borrowed and the fuselage steps straddled the straw bales. Perfect.

Placed on its familiar sawhorses at the hangar, some RV-building veterans that David has hired to help with his and his wife, Mary's, RV-10 project, stopped by. He has built or helped build 30 RVs. He took a brief look at it and proclaimed, "your project looks really good."

Friends, let me just tell you that words like that can make a lot of frustrating times disappear in a hurry. They can make years of self-doubt melt. And they can provide tremendous motivation to work on the project.

Not more than a few seconds later, I saw Warren on the other side of the hangar, bending down for a side view of the canopy frame, which was on a table.

"Warren, get the (heck) out of there, no looking closely at anything," I yelled, invoking the first rule of Bob's hangar; a rule I'd just come up with.

It was too late.

"What the (heck) did you do to this?" Warren shot back.

Sigh.