Jwputnam

Well Known Member
Building RV-9A in two locations, FL & MN. Completion to be in MN for MANY economic reasons.

Current plan: Empennage and wings in FL, Fuselage et al in MN.

Occurs to me that I MIGHT be able to finish empennage and wings in FL this winter. If that happens, I will move them north along with tools, tables, etc. in my trailer, BUT....and here is the BIG but...............what will I be able to build in FL NEXT winter so that I am not wasting 6 months of building time?

Obviously, I won't be able to work on the fuselage (and it is too big to trailer down to FL), but I need to fill those building hours next winter. Even if I still have one wing left to complete, that isn't enough (guessing.......but I tend to throw myself into these projects losing weight...hopefully....and sleep).

I am a total newbie at this and I have no really good idea as to the order of things or the potential segmentations.

Anybody had a similar experience or situation? Suggestions?

PS LOVE this site! Sent in my donation this evening. Cheap!!!!!

That's a tough one. The finishing kit and firewall forward kit need to be done with the fuselage in hand. If the tail and wings are mostly finished, you could do all of the paint prep and paint them (or have them painted) in FL. You could potentially start on your panel, but you don't want to do that until the rest is almost finished because of the rapid advance in avionics development (you don't want to buy too early).

dogone it. You told me what I suspected but definitely did NOT want to hear.

Maybe I can haul the fuselage south minus the fwf on it....to keep the length down. Hate bouncing this stuff down the highway though.

hmmm. Someone give me some far cheerier advice please!

I don't know what you trailer with but if you got one of those race car trailers you could take shop and all along both ways.:D