SvingenB

Well Known Member
OK, I have searched here and other places as well as talked to several persons, read in books. Still, I am not sure (at all) about what is the best method(s), or the right method for a typical homebuilder like myself. I am not totally void of experience and knowledge about this, since I am an engineer and have worked with this in other contents, but never in homebuilt aircraft.

First, there are two things that seems to be mixed together IMO, priming and anti-corrosion. Often they are the same thing, but just as often they are not. What I mean is that although a primer does protect the metal, it is not certain that the metal is protected, or even seiled without a coating on top of the primer. It all depends on the primer. A typical epoxy primer for metal yachts/ships do superb anti corrosion work, but this is just as much an exception as a rule.

From a technical point of view, I would use an epoxy based primer, but it looks like alot of extra work (masks, breathing apparatus and so on). I am really not sure if this is something that is worth doing due to fumes that will go through the house. The shop is not is not in my living room, and I have space enough to have a room exclusively for the task (not for the entire fuselage and wings though), but still. I don't know.

Etch primers seem to be a good choice toxic vise, but it is also my impression that they are generally being phased out due to the superiority of epoxy based primers. It is also my impression that they will be porous when dry? if they are, then I don't understand how they can be of any use to prevent corrosion on internal parts, it seems counter productive to me. I would believe etch primers are the kind of primers that would need another coating, and preferably while still wet, or semi wet?

Vinyl etch primers seem to give a thin and light protective layer, is this a good choice for internal parts, or are they used for something completely different?