kyle Lee

Hi all. I'm a new builder and was hoping to get some insight from those who have primed their RV-12. I guess the main question is any regrets with the finished product and weight? I am only working my way through the empennage kit. I have decided to prime everything since I live right on the coast that faces the chilly Southern Ocean in Australia. I started with some nasty lead based BMS 10-11 on the horizontal stabiliser and the spars of the vertical stabiliser. Looks great but I was concerned about weight and switched to cans of Zinc Phosphate. I am halfway through priming the skins of the tailcone and am up to can #6. Each can is 340 grams (12 oz for my American colleagues). I don't believe I am being too heavy handed with the primer but I think this is going to add up. I have considered just priming around the rivet holes of the skins to lighten things up in the future. Any thoughts?

Kyle Lee

Primer

Kyle,

I'm over in the West, not far from the warm Indian Ocean. I've used grey Wattyl Super-Etch in 400 gram spray cans for all my priming. It's an `industrial' grade primer (whatever that means), but it seems to have a good reputation.

Started off priming just the contact surfaces and ribs and spars on the fin, rudder, stabilator and tail cone, but then decided to prime all the interior of the wings and the fuselage (currently half finished). I'm guessing I've used around 50-60 cans so far in the 16 months since I started building (didn't track it too closely), but another few cans should be enough to finish the job. Spray cans are not a cheap way to buy primer, but they are very convenient, and the paint goes on easily.

If I was starting again, I would also have fully primed the interior skins of the fin, rudder, stabilator and AS tab - all those parts that are difficult to get to later. The tail cone is more accessible and easy to inspect, so I'm not sure if I would do any more than the contact surfaces.