andrew phillips

Well Known Member
I have been flying for several months and I still don't have a good understanding on why to configure the engine one way vs. another. I can control manifold pressure (throttle), RPM (prop) and mixture. For example, why would I choose to run 21" at 2500RPM over 24" at 2300RPM or 25 squared? What determines if you run over or under square? I would love to hear some rules of thumb for setting these parameters for various flight configurations if there are any. It seems to me that for any given RPM I can run a wide variety of manifold pressures, which one is right?

Some Factors

OK, I'm talking out of turn because mine is FP. Here goes anyhow.

In general and in theory, slower prop speeds for the same power are more efficient. That's probably not always true, but likely quieter anyhow.

Also in general and in theory, higher MP means less pumping loss which means greater efficiency.

As to the dangers of "over square", read up on the GAMI site.

To further complicate the picture, your power and thus its percentage when ROP is a function of RMP, MAP and altitude. But when LOP, its a function mostly of fuel flow. See other threads and posts in this forum for more on that.

MP/RPM

Andrew, I've been playing with this issue for years. For me personally, it comes down to where my engine runs and feels the best. I used to run my engine 2450 to 2500 because of vibration issues at lower RPM's. I re-clocked my prop backwards 60*, and now my engine runs smoothest and quietest at 2100 to 2250. I don't run over square because I don't need the extra fuel burn and speed. I would have no problem running 2" to 3" over square should the need arise. I could go on and on about this subject, but I think I covered the basics of how I fly my plane. Others will have different views on this and you should pay attention to them too. Running your engine is both a science and an art. Steve