Rick6a

Well Known Member
A couple of questions for those informed about powdercoating.

#1. The steel accessories on my truck that are factory powdercoated can be wiped with solvents without damaging the finish. Yet you can easily dissolve the "powdercoat" finish on the steel parts that are furnished with Van's kits if you aggressively wipe the surface down with MEK. Why?

#2. Can powdercoating be applied to a small part in two colors? Specifically, I would like to have the canopy handle on the RV-8 project painted to mimic the look of handles sometimes seen on military aircraft...a color combination of black and yellow striping. Is a two tone color combination possible using the powdercoating process?

I used to be a plant engineer for a compressor company and the powdercoat line was my responsibility (though I had no real qualifications for this). But, through the school of hard knocks I learned a couple of things:

One of the industry standard tests for coating durability is to take a 2 pound ball peen hammer and wrap it in MEK soaked rags. You then slide the hammer across the painted part and count how many strokes it takes to mess up the coating. The theory is that the hammer's weight is what is pushing on the surface of the part, and it takes the human out of the equation (guy X would push harder than guy Y).

We were usually able to get 20 or so rubs if I recall, before the coating would discolor. So, my point is, you should be able to expose it to some MEK but sooner or later you will mess up the coating. There are SO many variables in this process that it is difficult to say why Van's parts are different than the other guy. My first guesses are coating thickness, curing process, or the vendor of the paint.