NewGuy

Does any one have a pneumatic rivet squeezer that they would consider loaning or renting or selling to me?

I am knee deep into my empennage and my arms hurt already just from the dimpling process- I can imagine what it will be like trying to hand squeeze all those rivets on the rear spar and around the periphery.

I'll take really good care of a loaner and have it back promptly at the agreed to return date...

Ken Korenek
Arlington, Texas

I am just getting started riveting on my 9A. I got both the DRDT-2 and a pneumatic squeezer from Plane Tools. The dimpler is great. The wife loves to dimple with it as it is so easy. I doubt she would touch a C-Frame. That alone makes it work its higher price!

As for the pneumatic squeezer, it is heavy and a bit awkward to handle, at least for me! I am sure it is easier than manual squeezing, but you will still be sore. Bucking is an option if you want to save your muscles, and it goes really fast. Maybe it is because I am still learning to use the pneumatic squeezer, but I chose to buck most of the outer rivets on the VS. I think it is the fastest way, though the quality of the shop heads won't be quite as consistent.

Jeff
A new guy too, so I may be way off

Squeezer?!? WHAT Squeezer!

May as well learn to use your rivet gun and bucking bars. No squeezer required :)

To save a few dollars, you could get a used one from the yard store, I did and love it !
I should have my DRDT2 here soon also, no more BANG,BANG,BANG on the C-frame for me !
You will find that you can always make room for one more tool.

:D

Go buy a pneumatic rivet squeezer. At the end of the project you can sell it at a loss of only a couple of hundred dollars. It'll take 48 hours to sell it cause it's the most desirable second hand tool of all. They go like hotcakes.

For a couple of hundred bucks over the course of building an RV it's the best tool investment you can make.