Flying Scotsman

Well Known Member
Looking for a recommendation for PLBs. I want something that can attach to the harnesses, basic capability, nothing fancy, don't need real-time tracking or any of that. Just...activate it in an emergency. That's all.

I have been carrying a McMurdo Fast Find for a couple of years. Smaller than the one listed above, and tested to work one handed in case of injury (the other unit might have been also, just don't know). Very happy with it's size/weight and ability to test it's battery. Everyone seems to be selling them now (including Amazon http://www.amazon.com/McMurdo-FastF...KWZI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1326847230&sr=8-1 ) for $299. Hope this helps. Glenn

Note added, REI has them for $249

Last edited:
Inreach, replacement for SPOT?

I went out to buy a PLB yesterday, leaning toward the ACR Resqlink unit due to it's popularity, size etc. As I did my research ahead of time I kept looking at the Inreach satellite communicator. It is attractive in that it allows two way communication via the satellite system. This includes texting via blue tooth connection to an Ipad, Iphone or other devices.

It has the same tracking capabilities as Spot, is much easier to operate than my older Spot unit, and for $10.00 per month I can send 10 texts of 160 characters each month. My yearly costs will go down by $50.00 over what Spot cost me, and I gain the capability to actually have two way communication with the folks that I need help from. It could also be very nice for sending some non emergency texts each month to update the wife on progress etc, this can be done anywhere there is satellite coverage, no cell signal required, the cell phone or Ipad is basically used as a keyboard for the texting, I think...

As it turned out, my SPOT account was just about to charge me for another year so I went ahead and canceled. To top it off, the Bass Pro Shop had a rebate going on the unit so I got mine for $250 - the $75.00 rebate for a total of $175.00.