RFSchaller

Well Known Member
I am thinking about pinning the stub spars in the sockets with 1/4" bolts to eliminate play. Any thoughts on this approach? Forget the issue of flexibility to remove wings as I don't care about it.

The socket allows the rounded end of stub spar to rotate a bit in the vertical plane as the wing responds to flight loads. If you bolt it, the stub spar will be much more restrained in its socket, and this could have unintended consequences. High shear loads in the stub spar for one. Also, would you envisage an interference fit for the bolts, or would the holes have a tolerance as well?
I don't have the answers, and it may be quite OK, but I wouldn't do it on my plane.

If you have play in the wings add brass shim stock to the fore and aft spar sockets to take up the slack. No need to bolt them.

I am no engineer (although I have played one on TV), but before I made such a move, it would have the blessing of the engineering department at Van's A/C. If you have an issue, take the time required to work through it. Good luck and most of all, be safe!

Thanks for the comments. My take on it is that the stub spars are basically anti-rotation devices that counteract the tendency of induced drag and lift to rotate the leading edge upwards.

My wing leading edge on the pilot side moves downward about 1/32" when I step on the wing walk, so that's why I concluded the easiest solution would be to pin the stub spar in the position where the stub spar contacts the socket (leading edge upper most) so loads would be distributed to the socket in all but negative G.

Does this reasoning make sense to you guys? Nothing like a little peer review for a reality check!

My take on it is that the stub spars are basically anti-rotation devices that counteract the tendency of induced drag and lift to rotate the leading edge upwards.