Build9A

Well Known Member
Has anyone tried any of the cell phone pilot weather products? What's your evaluation concerning the use and capabilities? (for those of us not $ ready for XM, Garmin, etc.) thanks

I've been using Wxserver for about 2 years now. I really like it. It's fairly easy to use, has a lot of features, and the cost is pretty reasonable, at $60/ year. They have a 10 day free subscription you can play with.

http://www.avwx.net/home.php

I bought a one month subscription to the same service Jeff has I think. You send a text messege with the airport indentifier and the type of report you want and it responds back with the latest data. I found it usefull plenty of times, but half the time it wouldn't respond untill you'd quiried it a dozen times, or sometimes not at all. :confused: ~Joe

rvproject wx

Or just hit "rvproject.com" on any web enabled phone. The cost? ZERO. (Ok, it costs whatever your carrier bills you for web time.) It has metars & tafs (both raw and decoded), and N-number lookups.

If you have a fancy modern phone that tries to do "real web" and you get my full web site when you hit that URL, then go directly to "rvproject.com/wapindex.wml" instead.

There's also a "PDA" version of my wx site that is a slimmed-down version of the full web dealie: http://www.rvproject.com/wx/pda/

Enjoy!

Last edited:
using Dan's

Dans sight is one of my weather stops before each flight and flight service of course. Although they don't give me any better weather, but I do get TFRs and all that other stuff. I really like Dans decoded METARS and TAFS, and the headwind/tailwind at various altitudes. I think I even sent a donation. or maybe that was for the online logbook. Thanks Dan for both. However, I was thinking of the cellphone weather graphics like radar loops, etc. Nothing will replace rvproject.com/wx :) Jack