Echo Tango

Well Known Member
Fiancee and I are both in ATC and have gotten offers to transfer to the MSP TRACON, which is located at the airport, in about 20 months.

Are there any airparks within commuting distance? Places close to hangar space? I've been saving up for an RV-10 for a few years and have enough to get started, just waiting on the move and a place to build. :D

I can't find much online and it seems KMSP is NOT GA friendly. I guess one of the managers there used to have a Mooney he would commute with sometimes, and they kindly told him to stop :(

Welcome to the great frozen north - you'll love it here....especially if summer happens to fall on a Friday! Since you'll be at MSP for wirk, you'll want to buy a house "south of the river". Depending on what you consider a good or bad commute, there is a wonderful airpark about 40 minutes south of MSP (skyharbor) filled with lots of RV guys, airline pilots, ATC folks, and even a SteinAir employee as well as many friends. Incidentally, it's where the Twin Cities RVer's have their yearly BBQ. I also happen to know there are several decent houses for sale there (look on some of the real etate websites to see).

Flying into MSP with an RV is possible, but not advisable. A better airport if you don't live at Sky Harbor / Webster then KLVN is a very nice small airport with lots of RV's on it.....and its close to your favorite avionics shop!:)

Feel free to call or email us anytime...we even know some good local realtors.

Cheers,
Stein