DonFromTX

Well Known Member
As an old Army guy, the two phonetic alphabets are inscribed in my brain cells (you know able, baker, and then the Alpha Bravo)
My question is, it absolutely required to use an accepted alphabet? If I wanted to, could I use alternate words? I hear people doing that from time to time, but don't know if it is officially sanctioned or not. Sometimes I revert to the "old" one by accident.

2??? I guess there must be 3.... As a police officer I occasionally catch myself throwing in an Adam, boy!!! Seems like ATC is more understanding with that then the guys I work with when I slip the other way and throw in an alpha, bravo. Oh well, everybody knows what is meant.

The ICAO alphabet is what is supposed to be used. But my experience as an ATC (many years ago) and many more years as a pilot, most are tolerant if it's clear to what you are attempting to communicate.

bob

BUT

Please don't use the CB jargon on aviation radios. It makes me cringe everytime I hear 10/4 or what's your 20 on unicom..

I've heard non-standard words used and ATC never seems to mind. I'm reminded now what an airplane geek I've always been. I learned and memorized the ICAO alphabet when I was a little kid and that was one less thing I had to learn when I started my PPL training. :D

Cheers,

I see tha ICAO alphabet is the one the Army taught us way back when, so I revert to the correct one by age alone. I can remember we counted cadence for hours citing the alphabet with each step.
The reason I asked, my new N number is 461DG for the serial number of the RV12, and my name "Don" and wifes name (Geneda). I have heard others use non standard and thought I would use four six one don geneda for kicks. Guess I won't, besides Golf is only one sylable and one delta golf rolls off the tongue easier anyway..

Fox