docrick

Just ordered the Isham tool RV kit and set up my garage to build a 9A SB.

Looking at the preview plans one thing is for sure; I've never in my life ever read a blueprint. As a foot and ankle surgeon I work with tools and hardware a lot but alas no blueprint reading skills necessary in the OR.

My lack of "mechanical training" reading blueprints is frustrating. It seems like I've got to stare at the dang drawings and read the "directions" for a lot of time before it sinks in.

Any suggestions about how to educate myself in the accurate reading of blueprints so it is second nature?

Thanks.

I don't think there are any shortcuts, just spending more time acclimating to the new communication medium. After a while you'll adapt and know where to find things before you pull the drawing page out.

Keep at it!

Not So Dumb

Doc,
I'm an engineer and have trouble reading them too, sometimes. Drawings are an art form and much is personalized and non-standard. Trying to save page count, the draftsman will "hide" related information on different pages. Then there's the revisions, incorrect info, obsolete info, etc. The best way might be to take a drafting class at the local jr. college. Or find a high school text book. Pouring over the drawings before/during/after is what most of us do, however. I make copies of the preview drawings and highlight different elements using different colors - rivets, dimensions, etc. - as they relate to the build sequence of a part. I also make notes and reminders as I "discover" features. I'll also make a check mark beside each number/notation to ensure that I haven't overlooked (in plane sight) something. Hope this helps.

I have an engineering background as well and still those preview plans were confusing at first. Once I had the actual parts in hand it became much easier to understand what the prints are telling me.