werxcv01

Well Known Member
I am a new RV6A owner. Counting the 4.5 wonderful hours this past Saturday, I have a total of about 10 hours in the 6A. I am a converted C172 driver, so I am trying to get the pattern work right. I would prefer to be able to reduce power to idle on final and be sure to make the numbers, if the engine really stops. 800 feet agl about 1/2 mile from the numbers seemed to work on long paved runways. With full flaps, I was making the 500 foot mark and stopping with plenty to spare. However, the elevator ride down from pattern altitude is not the best way to impress your passengers. What do the experienced RV pilots prefer?

Also, I'm based at a 2600' grass strip, which is smoothest on either end. To avoid too much strain on the nose gear (the heavy duty SB has been done), I want to land on the numbers and stop before the bumps in the middle. However, I find myself dragging in with power, which is not good technique.

Welcome, Bill....

......It takes some practice to do consistent 180 degree approaches....stay with it. There's nothing wrong with dragging it in with power....typical short field technique. Don't let worries about engine failure on approach worry you too much. It's more likely to quit, without you knowing it, after a long idle.

Regards,

I'm just where you are, hour wise in my 6A. Previously, I'd been flying a 9A.

I've been making more landings with half flaps than full, and keep my pattern much closer to the runway than various Cessnas around here seem to do. Landings have been both power off, and carrying a bit of power. In the Piper Arrow, I always carried a bit of power, and also agree that there is nothing wrong with that technique.

With half flaps I'm usually easily off the first taxiway, which is about the length of your grass strip, so I don't know how half flaps would work for you. I'm also using a C/S prop, which makes a few differences.