AndyRV7

Well Known Member
I am interested at the moment in buying a plane with a steam gauge panel and am trying to decide if it would be feasible for me to swap out the panel afterwards. I am not a builder, so I have never put in a panel before. What I really need is for someone to demystify the process and skills needed for me.

I have my eye on a Dynon Skyview, and maybe an audio panel and transponder swap to match the Garmin 430 that is in the plane. The audio panel is currently a PMI model and I am not sure about the xsponder brand at the moment. The plane is currently all steam gauges, with one glideslope, and all Van's engine gauges. It has some sort of fuse/breaker system built into the rocker switches.

One other thing I would like to have is an autopilot. Is it possible to do this at the same time as the panel, or would it be futile now that the plane is in finished form?

I am a VFR pilot and don't plan to use the RV to get an instrument rating.

Thanks for any insight!! Andy

You Can Do It!

Sure, it can be done, people upgrade panels all the time. You'll have to acquire some skills and knowledge, just like the rest of us...but that's part of the fun :D. And if you're going to add the autopilot, when you're changing the panel is a great time to do it.

I would recommend getting Bob Nuckolls' book on wiring and electrical design: http://www.aeroelectric.com. That's a good starting point, and it offers the starting point and for many homebuilders' electrical design. If you can get the plane's original schematics or any sort of wiring diagram the builder used, you'll save yourself a lot of time and trouble as well.

Search around on this site and you'll find plenty of opinions and some insight regarding the EFIS and other choices you may make.

Good Luck, and have fun!

I have my eye on a Dynon Skyview, and maybe an audio panel and transponder swap to match the Garmin 430 that is in the plane.

Thanks for any insight!! Andy