Hi All,

I recently purchased a RV-6a. I use it quite a bit for business, and am thinking about upgrading the panel so I can train for my instrument rating (no time soon, in a year or so). I feel that I would be able to use it more consistently if both it and I were IFR rated. As it stands now, I am leary of overnight trips when the weather looks iffy (ie. I probably will drive tomorrow).

I have no experience building RV's or any other plane.

I'd like to upgrade the GPS from a Garmin 250 to possibly a 430, add a 2nd comm radio, install a EFIS (Dynon D10a or similar) and install an autopilot. The panel does not currently have a AI or DG.

I believe this is going to require repacing the current panel (due to the existing layout of the instruments- I would have to change some of the engine gauges to dual gauges, and downsize a couple of the existing instruments (VSI - Tach) to 2 1/4 if I was going to use the existing panel)

Any thoughts on the process? Should I just try and find an avionics shop to do it? Should I try to find an experienced builder willing to help me do it myself? Any thoughts on how much time a project like that would take? I would hate to start something myself and have it drag on for months and months.

Thanks in advance.

You could get a blank panel from Van's, have a good avionics shop lay out the new prospective panel using proposed new items and incorporating some of your existing equipment. The panel could be built up by the avionics shop and when ready, installed in your plane. That way you can fly up to the last minute with your old panel intact, and take the plane to the shop for a shorter layup, while they install the new panel, transfer existing equipment, and wire it in.

JMHO

Roberta

I guess I agree with Roberta