Hello Gaggle:

I'm totally new to this and request help.
I'm stripping and repainting the plane. So here are some of my questions:
1 - I was told about a stripper that sprays on and then drys with the removed paint. I think the name was KOLAR. It is suppose to be very aggressive on paints and not attack plastics. But I can't find any info on it. Anyone know of such an item?

2 - I wish to do a Scratch & Paint (sand & paint) because the original paint is OLD SCHOOL chemistry and is bonded very - very well. What PRIMER do you recommend?

3 - Keeping with Primers - This confuses me. Why do they call some primers Acid Etch Primers, when ACID is NOT used on aluminum... It should be a strong Alkaline for cleaning the aluminum?

4 - Chem Film (some know it as Irridate or Alodine) - Why would you use it IF you are going to paint on the Primer - - - Acid Etch Primer immediately after stripping/ sanding?

5 - Doesn't the Acid Etch primer remove the Chem Film?

6 - What Paint? I know, I know... this is a personal preference item but it should be compatible with the primer.

Thank you for the help,
Barry

Repaint

Hi Barry

I can't help you with the specifics of American products but I can give you several pointers.

This is a very very big job you are about to undertake. I have been painting my RV 4 for some time now, and have previously painted several other aircraft.
For example with scratch and paint dont underestimate how long the rubbing down process takes. I was not happy with the fin after the first paint, so rubbed it back to the etch primer which took about 7 hours.

Part of the reason for this is that you cant afford to use to aggressive grit as you dont want to scratch the skins with more than 400 grit.

I used a two pack acid etch primer.........as the name suggests the acid etches into the metal for a good bond. Then a two pack acrylic primer, followed by acrylic top coat. No laquer!