todehnal

Well Known Member
I chose to scotch brite, acid etch with Alumiprep 33, prime with Dupont Veriprime and, and paint with Imron. Lots of other ideas out there, but that's the route that I am going. I'm not good with a gun, so I had a buddy with a huge paint booth to shoot for me. I must say that he got a nice finish, but he used almost half a gallon of Imron, painting one wing!! Is it just me, or does that sound like a lot of paint. I may end up with the heaviest RV-12 out there. Comments appreciated.
Tom

I chose to scotch brite, acid etch with Alumiprep 33, prime with Dupont Veriprime and, and paint with Imron. Lots of other ideas out there, but that's the route that I am going. I'm not good with a gun, so I had a buddy with a huge paint booth to shoot for me. I must say that he got a nice finish, but he used almost half a gallon of Imron, painting one wing!! Is it just me, or does that sound like a lot of paint. I may end up with the heaviest RV-12 out there. Comments appreciated.
Tom

You're looking at a 2 gallon paint job. Not bad.

RV-12 wings are pretty big.

Hi Tom, I just checked my records and for the base coat of light gray imron, I used 2 3/4 gallons. This is a 3 color job so I also used 3/4 gallon of red and another gallon of darker gray. It also took 1 1/2 gallons of primer and converter. Before paint and interior my weight was around 720#. Now it is 740# with A/P, Lights, carpet and side panels. Did you hear that Joe has been taxiing his? He has gotten a second wind. Every time I go over he is slinging wrenches and putting out fires. You're reading this aren't you Joe? Oh, I guess not, he is still roughing it in Itly!

Paint in Progress

Thanks guys. Glad to hear that I'm not way out of the norm on paint.