F1R

Well Known Member
Lets say we are on an IFR approach in icing conditions. The static ports ice over and block, perhaps the pitot also. Which of the current synthetic vision systems will continue to give us accurate GPS and gyro generated images of the terrain and runway regardless of the false airspeed and barometric altitude data?

I am new to the glass panel market and this weighs in my winter flying and purchasing plans.

From what I understand about glass cockpit devices, they have a "strapdown INS" which is augmented with pitot/static and GPS data. If the p/s system was lost then the airspeed and altimeter would read inaccurate. They wouldn't red-X (internal fail of the AHRS) but the software should figure out that inertial and GPS agree, and baro disagree and then rule it out. I've never tried this though and it's hard to simulate in real-life (you'd have to takeoff with the P/S system failed, you can't pull a breaker because that would red-X it and the sofware would know).

It's an interesting question though.

As a side-note, I had a friend who was flying in Kansas (land of high winds) doing slow-flight in a glass cockpit aircraft, and at the altitude he was flying the airspeed read 45kts and the groundspeed read zero! The attitude worked still but the heading was doing interesting things.

The Dynon systems will continue to operate accurately in the described conditions.

I had a piot blockage one day.....not from Ice, but from some very unlucky bug!

The Dynon reverts to a GPS input mode and it was spot on all the way home!

Good work Dynon :)

PS...I did toast his A$$ with the heater! :D

MGL Odyssey also works well

I have a couple of times lost my pitot readings (forgot to hook it up after maintenance).

The airspeed reads zero, but the artificial horizon and gps altitude continued to display correctly. It's a bit weird coming in for a landing with no airspeed.

Kevin,