miyu1975

Well Known Member
I called an engine shop yesterday that will build the ECI Titan Kit engines. I asked many questions and told him as to what I was wanting. I mentioned that I wanted dual P mags and he quickly said he recommends one P mag and one regular mag to start with. He said to make sure they work, I guess....any thoughts to this.?:confused:

pmags

I have been flying for 3 years 2 months with dual PMAGs and my experience has been good. I did have them configured so they did not advance timing until I had 50 hours on my new engine.

I can understand the thought behind having one p-mag and one standard mag - different failure modes make for a good backup - but not sure of the rationale for only one pmag "to start with". The down side of having only one is that you will effectively be running on one mag (the one with more advance) all the time and lose a little performance relative to two p-mags.

P-mags seem to have finally gained traction and improved their reputaton with respect to reliability. There is little doubt in my mind that you will be happy with them.

full disclosure: I have two p-mags and am a satisfied customer

erich

... and he quickly said he recommends one P mag and one regular mag to start with. He said to make sure they work, I guess....any thoughts to this.?:confused:

So...

If you said you wanted to run two regular mags, would he say to replace one with a P-mag just in case one of the regular mags went bad?

P-mags are not tied together, thus if you had a problem, you can turn off the offending mag. Truth is, they seem to have fixed the problems. (I've been running a dual P-mag setup since '07. OK, well not for the last year but they are mounted on the new engine and will fire it.)