Bob Axsom

Well Known Member
I am going to add an oxygen system to the airplane so we can take advantage of its full capability. I have superficially read about such systems for years but I have no experience in this area at all. At Sun 'n Fun we walked through a couple of vendor display hangars (I always find this awkward because I have never prepared to take advantage of the opportunity) and my wife reminded me of the need for an oxygen system. We visited the Sky Ox and Mountain High booths and on the surface they appear about the same with Sky Ox offering a Sun 'n Fun special price of $442 for a 15 CU. FT. two place system complete ready to fly with Cannulas and $35 more for a padded bag (their handout says their normal price for the bagless system is $520). The Mountain High price was on the order of $100 more expensive for the Sun 'n Fun special price. I see Sky Ox is the system featured in Sporty's latest catalog so that gives it some credibility. Both vendors gave me a phone number and said their prices would be good for a couple of weeks beyond Sun 'n Fun although I consider this to be too big a decision to rush for $100 or so.

First question - Is there anything in particular that one should know about either of these systems or any other?

Second - I saw a writeup about a tank mount on the rear of the flap actuator housing which seems easy but accessibility and vulnerability give me some pause any comments on installation experience, recommendations or operational experience related to tank location?

Third - What is the proper and safe way to recharge the tank?

Fourth - What are the in-flight operational requirements for using the system?

Fifth - What are the in-flight operational dangers and the risk mitigations ?

Thanks,

Bob Axsom
RV-6A, N710BJ

Oxy Systems

Bob,