Status
Not open for further replies.

Clarkie

Well Known Member
Hi Guys,

I'm just getting started and was wondering if it possible to over dimple using the DRDT-2 on the skins? My rivets are flush, but for whatever reason, I don't think it looks very clean.

Nope, can't over-dimple.

Are you sure you've got the DRDT adjusted correctly? I can't remember the exact verbiage, but the dies need to make contact, then the handles moves a some more.

Are you getting the 'witness' mark around the outer edge of the die? You should be.

-Jim

Yes.. I am getting the little circle mark around the dimple, but I expected it to look more crisp than it does.

I'd say the DRDT is adjusted correctly then.

If you're comparing it to other dimples, then at this point, it's probably a variation in the different manufacturers of the dies. They are not all created the same.

How does the rivet sit in? If it's flush, paint will cover it.

If you're polishing, then you might want to get different dies.

Maybe a picture could illustrate to the smarter than I am guys.

Best,

-Jim

I'm not very far in, but 3/4 turn past contact of the dies seems to work well for me. And the Cleveland dies seem to be regarded as excellent -- but I have nothing for comparison.

I have a c-frame too... At some point I was going to do a comparison test, and see how they looked side by side.

more likely to under dimple than over...