thilokind

Hi folks,

need the advice of the experienced Oshkosh visitors. We - two of my buddies and me - just booked our flight tickets Frankfurt - Chicago and we will go to Oshkosh for a couple of days. Our plan is to stay until Sunday. This will be my first trip to Oshkosh (I'm a veteran Sun'n Fun visitor, though).

My question is regarding hotels: ideally, we would like to keep our schedule flexible. Is it possible to get hotel rooms easily or do you recommend to book ahead? We are willing to stay outside the Oshkosh area (say 50 to 60 miles).

Thanks

Thilo

...My question is regarding hotels: ideally, we would like to keep our schedule flexible. Is it possible to get hotel rooms easily or do you recommend to book ahead? We are willing to stay outside the Oshkosh area (say 50 to 60 miles)...

Thilo,

"Book ahead" would have been last year. Hotels in the area tend to get booked up months in advance. You might have a hard time getting a reservation even now. Although I imagine you could probably still find something in Green Bay, about a 45 minute drive from OSH. (Getting a rental car without early reservation might also be difficult.)

There are also camping and dormitory-style accommodations, but I'm not sure how early those tend to fill up. Maybe someone else can comment on that.

-Roee

Camping on the grounds a Camp Scholler never fills up, but it would be tough to arrange all the necessary camping gear if coming from overseas. At this late date the nearest hotels are over an hour drive from Oshkosh.
Suggest you check out the Airventure web site for lodging at:
http://www.airventure.org/planning/where_to_stay.html
You may want to e-mail EAA directly since they often have special arrangements for overseas visitors.

Hi folks,