szicree

Well Known Member
I'm gonna need a prop fairly soon and am torn between Sensenich metal vs. Catto three blade. My mission will be day vfr sport flying with occasional travel. I love the look and performance of the Catto, but the metal prop will be less trouble to maintain. Cost is about same, so not a factor. And it would be great if we could leave out the C/S vs. Fixed debate. Finally, if any body has a great deal on a used prop that could probably settle things for me :D

Catto over Sensenich

I've been operating my Catto for over 4 years now off a my gravel runway without any maintenance issues. I prefer the Catto over the Sensenich because of looks, performance, looks, smoothness, looks, quietness, weight and looks. The Catto also doesn't have the 2600 rpm red-line.
These are just my preferences. Your's may be different.

Sensenich was helpful

I discovered my then I use Sensenich was cut down 7 1/2" in excess of the minimum recommended. Even though it had been in use for 1000 hours it was an potential disaster. They had available a new unit ( 70CM6S16-0-79 ) which required some additional attention. They sold it as a reconditioned at a considerable savings. Never hurts to ask. I love people who have the imagination to do a deal.

Pretty soon

May be the determining factor. Craig's backlog is typically at least 9 months.

Do a search and you will someone who switched from a Sensi to Catto. He gives the direct skinny.

A sensi will be easier to obtain on the used market and will be better maintenance wise.

According to Craig Catto, his 2 & 3 blade props perform the same in climb and cruise, but the 3 is a bit smoother. The 2 is cheaper than the sensi or 3 blade and you can get them pretty quick. IMO a real contender, especially if you use it with a dynamic balancer.

I have no direct knowledge, but reports are that the Catto's and Sensi's cruise about the same, but the Catto climbs better.