Canadian Flyer

I'm New Here
Hi all.

I'm a low time pilot, and first time posting on a forum like this. I've been looking around at different planes, and I really like the RV 9a. Just wondering, though, what the hourly operating costs are, things like fuel and money set aside for engine reserve. What sort of fuel fuel burn do you get on average?

I'd be curious to hear from some owners who can speak to this out of experience. Thanks!

4.6 to 5.3 gph mean fuel burn per flight

That's my fuel cost.

Specifics:
Carbureted O-320-E2d, Fixed Pitch Sensenich, p-mags, running very lean in cruise, typically 9500-11,500' and 150-160 mph TAS.
Tie-down rings in a pocket until I land.

Economy is very important to me; I monitor engine/aircraft performance closely on every flight, and have observed >0.5 gph improvement
in economy with the p-mags. I don't own stock in E-Mag ignitions, but I do like their products.

I specifically do not have an aircraft engine reserve :)eek:); when performance/diagnostic results warrant, I'll consider my options and make a decision.

(I don't know anyone that socks away funds to replace a daily commuter engine -of much higher utility-, a show car or bike engine, or a boat engine; given
my intention to surpass TBO significantly, tying up otherwise liquid funds for an unknown period of time is... silly. To my mind, engine reserve funds would
be much better used to pay down debt, make select mods, ... or buy avgas. )

YMMV.

Flying costs.......

I sent you a little PM ( private message in the top right corner, if you aren't familiar).

I bought a 9a with a fixed pitch metal prop, and low-compression 0-320 Lyc. typical of this model.
the ship has only 100 hours on it, so not much has worn out. Each year at annual, I typically change the oil, and the odd hose or clamp, and may have some avionics recertification to do, so that can run 2 or $300.