I did some forum searching regarding routing my battery cable, and keep seeing references to dwg 25 and 31 which I have, and also to something called OP11. Where do I find this? I'm trying to come up with the best way to route the aft battery cable to the firewall.

And while I have your attention, where is an ideal place to bring the cable through the firewall? Where is the starter relay mounted for lycoming/clone engines (probably with a sky tec starter)? Is the right side of the firewall better? I'm new to the 4 cylinder lycoming world, and have yet to purchase an engine.

Thanks

firewall forward drawing

Hi,
I have the firewall forward package from Vans, there were OP drawngs there. Other OP drawings I have come from Vans suggested electrical layout drawing package. You can probable order each set $15 or so

What are you building? I'm building a 7 but there are details re the 8 & 9 too.
in my OP collection I have 10,12,26,27,28,29,30,31,3233,34,35.
I do not have an 11, but OP10

scanned the OP10 iso of the aft battery mounting and cable runs, send me an email and I'll sent it to you.
Best option though call vans and order the drawings.

http://home.comcast.net/~davcor/RV8.jpg

I wanted to get D-Size scans (24x36) of all of these but Kinko's wants $5 sq ft... ouch

lemme know

Dave
getting ready to hoist the engine...

Last edited:
I followed the manual with the routing of the wire from rear to the left side of the firewall (looking forward). The starter will be on the left side of the engine (also looking forward). Depending on what starter you use, the relay/solenoid may be on the firewall or the starter itself.

Check out "the X-Drive" and you can read more here.. Yes, SkyTec is a nice starter. Some like it because it spins the engine so nicely, but there are those that think it spins the engine too fast. So fast the impulse coupler doesn't engage or disengages. I agree. May not be an issue with electronic ignition.