AX-O

Well Known Member
It is with great pleasure that I write this. Today is my one-year anniversary of drilling/riveting those first six holes on the elevator. I set a goal to build my own airplane when I graduated from 6th grade. Today I am one year into that childhood dream. When I started working on the plane, I wanted to average at least 10 hours a week. That has been challenging due to my work and home schedule. As of today, I am averaging 9.3 hours a week and have performed 480 hours (does not include research, reading plans and instructions). The tail feathers were completed in 165.5 hours (minus glass work). The wings have approximately 315 hours of work on them. My plans go everywhere I go, kind of like VISA ?everywhere you want to be?. I have learned so much over the past year. A lot about building an airplane and even more about myself. I find myself enjoying things that a normal person would find boring, a waist of time or just stupid. I also find myself loosing or just not finding patience during those repetitive tasks like deburring wing ribs.

I have made a few mistakes to date (all have been corrected). Some where fine however, I could not sleep at night so they were fixed.
1) Cut the R-710 rudder horn per plans and did not get the right edge distance.
2) Dimpled #8 screw holes on the tank skin and cracked a few dimples. I ordered new skins even though Vans told me to use them.

Few things that I have learned:
1) Sometimes good-enough works (just like in Test Pilot School). If I build every part that I am not 100% happy with, I will end up building about 3 planes.
2) My second plane will be much better.
3) If it is giving me a lot of problems, then I am doing something wrong. Put it down and pick it up some other time.
4) When I make a mistake, sometimes it is better to leave it than to try to fix it. Sometimes I end up making things worst.
5) I am very picky about my work and work environment. This is a hobby, I should be having fun.