JKevin

Well Known Member
So...

I am starting construction of my recently-purchased RV-6 kit. Jig built, ready to go.

The kit is from the 90's and all of the hardware, including rivets, is what came with the kit when new.

I have read about "fresh" vs "old" rivets and the potential for problems using old rivets.

Science or old wives' tale?

I would hate to throw away what appear to be perfectly good rivets, but it's not like it would break the bank to buy new...

Any input would be appreciated.

They are fine...shoot 'em!

Your rivets are fine...use them. There is no shelf life on AD rivets as used on the RV kits. There are rivets known as "ice box" rivets, a completeley different alloy than AD rivets,which are simply rivets pre-anealed for easier installation which will self age harden after a short period of time. Those rivets need delivered in a frozen state or locally annealed on site, then installed before they become re-hardened. I make my living in the "big jet" overhaul industry and use every imaginable rivet alloy there is..we don't throw any away because they are "old"

Your rivets are fine...use them. There is no shelf life on AD rivets as used on the RV kits. There are rivets known as "ice box" rivets, a completeley different alloy than AD rivets,which are simply rivets pre-anealed for easier installation which will self age harden after a short period of time. Those rivets need delivered in a frozen state or locally annealed on site, then installed before they become re-hardened. I make my living in the "big jet" overhaul industry and use every imaginable rivet alloy there is..we don't throw any away because they are "old"

Bill is correct.

I have used most of the new rivets that came with my RV-8 tail kit but also added a few rivets left over from my RV-6 kit. My RV-6 has been flying over 19-years and over 3,200 hours. Could not tell the difference between the 20+ year old rivets and the newer rivets.