Geico266

Well Known Member
I have a question about engine oil temps and oil cooling in my RV9A. I might be over analyzing (more than likely the case) but with the wildly varying airtemps here this winter I'm having a heck of a time finding the right combination. I would like the oil temps to be 180F. When I block off the oil cooler I get temps up to 230F (not good) and when I don't I get temps 140F (with lots of condensation on the dip stick.) I then read about a VERNI-THERM VALVE that can be installed as an oil thermostat? I have an I0-360 with the oil filter coming out the back of the engine (no remote).

Does anyone have any experience with this oil thermostat? Can I install one? Do I need to add the remote oil filter set up? Are there any instructions / info?

Any help would be appreciated, I'm really new to Lycoming.

The Verna-therm should be standard on all engines with the Lycoming oil filter.
Look at the bottom side of the oil filter adapter and look for a large hex nut.
I've had luck by installing an oil cooler block-off plate, and drill holes, making them bigger untill I get the desired temps. I personally like to see oil temps around 200 degrees.

Thanks Mel, I have been doing some more research and I see what you are talking about.

If the valve is installed and working properly why would my oil temps only be 140F? Maybe I wasn't in the air long enough?

Last edited:
Mel said:
I've had luck by installing an oil cooler block-off plate, and drill holes, making them bigger untill I get the desired temps. I personally like to see oil temps around 200 degrees.
If the thermostat works properly why would we need to block the oil cooler? :confused: