DBentley

How long should one expect an oil cooler to last without major failure? I have a flying RV6, 351 hours, and just completed my engine oil change as part of the condition inspection. I started the engine for the leak check and just got to idle when I heard a "pop" and oil came shooting out over the windshield and left wing. It's an Aero Classics 8000074, 9 row cooler, bought from Pacific Oil Cooler Service, and I've been flying for 5 years.

I'll call them on Monday and send it back I guess for repair. Looks like a separation at the top of one of the brazed rows, very clean. Glad it was on the ground, not in the air. Their web site recommends overhaul at 300 - 400 hrs. I always assumed they lasted considerably longer.

Duane Bentley
N515DB
West Chester, OH

Welcome to VAF

What kind of oil pressure are you running? That seems pretty early to me for a oil cooler failure. Was it new or used?

The cooler was new when installed five years ago. Oil Pressures - I don't recall specifically, but 60 -70 psi sounds about right. It was 75 degrees F and fresh 15W50 oil, so I don't think it was over presurred.

Duane

The cooler was new when installed five years ago. Oil Pressures - I don't recall specifically, but 60 -70 psi sounds about right. It was 75 degrees F and fresh 15W50 oil, so I don't think it was over presurred.

Duane

Could have been a bad one from the start. Typically, an over presurized oil cooler will be "swollen". Sounds like you just got a "lemon".

Any unsual vibrations going on? It seems weird to be that it failed. Anyone else?

If it was gonna happen be glad it happened on the ground! We had a builder flying his Witman and a oil filter fitting broke pumping out all the oil in flight. He did a good job getting the plane on the ground, but there was some damage to the engine and he needed to tear it down.

Last edited:
My experience