esco

Well Known Member
Friend
I'm visiting Santa Cruz and Oakland in mid-June, and I'd appreciate airport recommendations.

My priorities are:
-very high probability of clear weather,
-RV-friendly environment,
-proximity to either city, and
-freeway access, in that order.

I'm a day VFR pilot, flying with a wet compass, nav radio, and ForeFlight/ADS-B. This trip convinced me of the need for IFR equipment and training, but neither will occur before June.

I'll be in Santa Cruz at the start of the trip, but WVI looks to have marine layer/coastal fog in June.

In the north, historical data shows OAK had 16 cloudy/partly cloudy days in June 2013; HWD had 12; SJC had 7; and LVK had 4. I don't have RHV historical data; anecdotally it sounds good from VAF posts.

Right now my plan is to fly to LVK, drive down to Santa Cruz for three days, drive back to Oakland for a few days, and depart.

1. Do June 2013 records seem a good prediction of June 2014 weather?
2. Am I missing any reasonable alternate airports?

thanks,

Plenty of Options

On a map all of those places look close. But, they aren't. Driving from Livermore to Santa Cruz will easily take you an hour and a half, without traffic. Make that trip during commute hours and you can count on doubling that time. Why not plan on Watsonville as a destination, and use Monterey and Salinas as alternates? If Watsonville is fogged in, Monterey might be too, but it is very rare for the fog to reach into Salinas. The heat of the Central Valley in June burns the fog off before it can make it that far.

For Oakland, just plan on that, there are plenty of alternates. Hayward to the South, Livermore over the hill. Realistically what happens is the airports on the West side of the Bay (SFO, San Carlos, Palo Alto) tend to stay fogged in a bit longer, and those on the East side (Oakland, Hayward) clear first. But if they are fogged in, you have outs at Livermore and Concord.