Av8torTom

Well Known Member
I know this has been beaten to death, but what's the current thinking on the safety of the nose wheel design? Anyone know if Van is considering any other changes? Larger nose wheel maybe?

nose wheel safety

Tom,
I agree there's been a lot of ink on this, but no real consensus.
I'm a bit nervous about flipping my precious, and having the insurance co. say that I was going too fast over a rough surface with a known tendency for the gear to tuck under etc. and deny my claim!
I've done the mod, keep the tire at 30+ psi cold, and fibreglassed two chunks of 1/8" aluminum into the nose pant as a skid plate for the strut/nut.
Still not entirely comfortable, and will avoid grass until I'm much more proficient.
I think if I was a builder, and had a shop/hangar, I'd be real tempted to install the larger nose wheel/tire/yoke just for a bit more flotation on soft ground at least.
Truth is, some of us aren't 1000-hr. Yeagers, and my RV-9a probably still thinks I'm a student pilot, which isn't far from the truth either. Mistakes in ground handling will be made, and the design is not forgiving in this particular area. 'Nuf said.

larger tire or longer yoke

Installing a larger tire will lift the castle nut higher off the ground. If the yoke to the tire had a higher angle from the nut to the tire, that would also increase the height above the ground. The van's revision did increase the angle, however, I think that a larger angle would have also worked and still keep the tire behind the nut and having a higher clearance.

Bob

nose wheel

I just installed the MatcoMFG.com axel. After the first flight I noticed the differnece. I have over 630 hours on my 7A with the old setup. The new axel nut is much better and offers dramatically less rolling resistance. No other issues found that need addressing.
Tad Sargent
TeamRV
7A