HIIFLY

Well Known Member
I have an RV-6 with a a Io-320 Sensenech fixed pitch prop , I weigh 230 lbs and with a 185 lb passenger it is at th rear of the C/G limit I am sure of . I would like to add nose weight , maybe a 11 lb weight ring on the starter ring gear like I had on my 8 for awhile , but I need more ! So my question is , what does this group think of adding Lead Shot in an epoxie slury inside of the front upper and lower cowling air inlets , like 2.5 lbs in each of the four spaces ? I wonder about the stress on the cowl fasteners , the cowl is very light but very strong I don't think that it would cause a problem , but would like any input + or - , or has anyone done this yet ??? . Thanks , Joe

W&B

I'd recheck the W&B before doing anything. I've got similarly set up -6 and don't get near aft datum with that loading plus 50# baggage. To the original question, I'm not an engineer, but cowl inlet weights strike me as a bad idea. Standard weight starter, landoll ring, bigger battery can all add weight without compromising in other areas.

Starters

One local builder dumped his lightweight starter and went to the old certified boat anchor version to help a similar W&B problem.

One local builder dumped his lightweight starter and went to the old certified boat anchor version to help a similar W&B problem.

I'll second this. I went with an old starter to keep weight on the nose and felt bad when the starter died and I had to replace it with a lightweight version. I just put a 19lb crush plate on my 6A and it made several positive improvements. First, it moved my CG a full inch forward. Second, it allowed me to smoothly idle much lower and last, it helped to smooth out the engine vibrations at lower RPMs. The crush plate is steel and came from Sabre.