First of all, I am just starting out my researching for a purchase of one of these fine RV's. I'm looking and reading hours everyday. I want to make the best most educated purchase I can. I think I want an RV6 or 7 and I've seen alot for sale (good for me).

However, I have noticed that there is very few with a standard "6 pack" set up for the flight instruments.

Is it because it is very difficult to set up this configuration? Or is the owner taking the liberties that a homebuild aircraft affords and putting the flight instruments in the "Easiest" configuration?

I think I would be more at home in an RV that has the "6 pack" configuration for the flight instruments and see myself reconfigureing the panel if I purchase one in a non "6 pack" configuration RVs,

A/S A/H ALT

T/C H/I VSI

This is what I am calling the standard "6 Pack" set-up...:confused::confused:

Last edited:
Is it because it is very difficult to set up this configuration? ...

Every builder is different. But:

It's not difficult to do a standard "6-pack" layout. But these days it is not much more expensive, and in some cases it is actually cheaper, to install any of several glass displays. Those displays take the information you'd get from the standard steam gauges and display it in a manner that is more intuitive, easier to process, and harder to misinterpret.

take your time and you will find 'your' plane. an older one will have what you want.this is 1999 vintage.:);)
img2294a.jpg

not excactly

I was really refering to the individual instruments position relative to each other not steam vs. glass. I like the class panels but I don't think I can afford a full set up.

However, I have noticed that there is very few with a standard "6 pack" set up for the flight instruments....