AndyRV7

Well Known Member
First of all hello! I am a brand new forum menber and hope to be a new builder before too long.

I have a million or so questions, as you might imagine, but I'll try to focus my thoughts. I have been researching the RV-7 build for a few months and I really think I want to try this. But what I can't seem to deduce from all the posts and stories and literature I've read, or the Van's DVD, is what exactly am I overlooking. That is, what if I can "assemble" all the parts of the kit, then what else do I have to know or learn to be able to pull everything together into a working airplane? Maybe things like priming the parts, or picking and installing the communication or navigation or flight equipment, or maybe installing an engine and getting it to run. Where are the biggest hurdles, or are they different for everybody?

Be gentle. I am nowhere near as knowledgeable about any of this as you people, obviously, but I hope to be getting smarter. I'll take whatever insight you have to offer!!:)

Over the next few months, I hope to work out a potential build location (preferably attached to my residence!!) Incidentally, I am in Northern NJ. I also hope to make contact with a builder or two to actually get to see an RV-7 in person. Ultimately, I'll need to find a ride before I can order the kit for myself, but I still have to work all that out. And if nothing changes my mind along the way, I hope to jump in with two feet in the Spring.

So that is my story. Thanks for your help and any patient answers you might provide!!

Andy

That is, what if I can "assemble" all the parts of the kit, then what else do I have to know or learn to be able to pull everything together into a working airplane?

So, personally, I wouldn't sweat "the other stuff". Once you get to that point, you'll have spent enough time to figure it out, and if not, there are great websites, that provide *TONS* of info. This is one of those sites.