jdgold

I'm New Here
Hi all,

I am considering buying an already built RV-6A or 7A to fulfill a lifelong dream of owning my own airplane. I am a current military pilot but don't have much

experience in GA aircraft. I am also considering buying a Cessna Cardinal. The top of my budget is around $65K, but I'd like to stay lower than that if possible

to have some reserve $ left over for the inevitable expenses.

Part of my typical "mission" will be cross country flights (about 600 mile radius from N.J.). The extra seat or two (depending on weight) in the Cardinal would

be nice, but I don't think I'd use it/them that much, and I'd love to go upside down again.

Compared to other "traditional" airplanes, how is the RV6A as an IFR platform as far as stability, work load, etc.? I'd like to hear from pilots who have flown

both types.

Is an autopilot with alt hold a desirable thing in the RV6 compared to other types of single engine airplanes?

Compared to other "traditional" airplanes, how is the RV6A comfort level for two average size people on longer (3+ hour) trips?

Can you do "leisurley" aerobatics with 360 lb of people in it?

Thanks in advance.

J.D.

Advice on RV vs Cardinal

RV for sure wins!

>Maintenance and parts: saves a bundle

>Performance

>Acro (you'll be solo most of the time)

>Formation

> Cool friends (fellow RV'ers)

>Fun!

Note: As an A&P I feel sorry for those who own older certified aircraft as maintenance is tougher and tougher to obtain. Parts are hard to find and mechanics who understand and want to work on older planes are dying off/retiring. Save yourself a headache and go for an RV.

Welcome J.D.

FWIW, an RV-6 is two inches wider than a Skyhawk. It's cozy but comfortable and I've done many 2 1/2 hour trips and a few 3 hours without discomfort, and you gotta realize, that's almost 600 miles!

You can do all of your own maintenance, as Vern pointed out and only need an A@P for condition (annual) inspections, not an IA.