NCGAPilot

Hey, for a while now I've been dreaming about building my own RV-8A. However, I am concern about doing this because A. I have almost NO metal work experience. B. The only kit I actually worked on was helping my dad with his Factory Five Cobra, and model airplanes that always got smashed by my cat. Other than that I got no experience in this. However, I want to build an RV-8A because I want an airplane that is "mine" so to speak. I want an aircraft that I can be proud of and that is mine. I've been doing alot of reasearch in equipments, tools, and construction spaces, but I still feel alittle uncomfortable about doing this when I have no experience in aircraft construction. Can anyone help me find a way to overcome this so I can start on this project? I have enough for a tool kit (from Avery tools) and the emprange kit, but that's about it for now. What do yall think?

Remember "Rosie the Riveter" - the housewife in WW2 that worked at the airplane factory riveting aluminum airplanes for the war? Methinks that the metalwork is the last of your worries. I'm not a builder yet, but from what I gather, the basic skills are easy enough to learn but the hard part is all the prep work, reading Van's plans, staying motivated, etc...

I'm getting ready to build and I'm going to do the 1 week empennage build at Anderson (I hope I got that right - the one in GA). I'll learn all the metalwork junk and finish a 4-month project in one week. Everyone seems to think it's well worth the $$ ($1500).

model airplanes that always got smashed by my cat

Today I found that the hstab of my 1/5 scale Cessna 182 has a cat paw sized hole in it. My (new) wife's cats are going to be living outside if they keep destroying my stuff.

Last edited:
Yea, since this is my first build, I plan on going with the QB kit. It'll cost more, but it's better for a novice like me.

I was thinking that way (QB) but...