dnimigon

I've been rubbing and rubbing as I build my RV-9 and when it came to the wing skins I thought their has to be a better way. well I'm a contractor by trade and decided to try a small vibrating sander(the kind you all probably have kicking around) but instead of the sanding paper I just set a peice, say 4 X 4 of scothbrite down on the skin, set the sander which usually has a rubber pad on the bottom down on the scotchbrite and turn it on. The rubber base of the pad keeps the scotchbrite held firm and it doesn't take much pressure to buff. As far as dimpled areas it roughs them up nicely. Then I wipe off the excess. Then clean using your favourite cleaner. As far as I'm concerned this works excellent and with much less effort. I'm using it now on all my flat surfaces.

Why are you scotchbriting the entire skin? Are you getting ready to prim them right after you scuff off the alclad? I must be missing something here.

Just scuffing with Scotchbrite isn't enough to break through the Alclad. You'll need something more aggressive to do that.

You can tell when you're through the Alclad because the base metal is much harder and has a slightly different appearance and feel. At least, that has been my experience on various corrosion and scratch repairs over the years.

I painted my Rocket back in 2003 using PPG basecoat/clearcoat. The first step was to scuff everything with Scotchbrite exactly as described above (sorry, there's nothing new under the sun!). I skipped the alodining because of the health hazards of that stuff (where do you think it goes after you rinse it off in your driveway!?) and have had zero adhesion or other problems. In fact, the paint looks like day one even after 7 years. Good stuff if you follow the directions.

YMMV

Last edited: